Circa Waves @ The Georgian Theatre, Stockton-on-Tees

Circa Waves were incredible at an intimate venue before unleashing a new album

We were going to see Circa Waves about a year ago, but the gig calendar got far too congested.  The opportunity to catch them in a small and very local venue (to me) couldn’t be passed up.  Unfortunately, Andrew couldn’t make it, so it was just Ste and I.

Our last few trips to Stockton haven’t resulted in any delightful culinary experiences. Instead Stockton has produced the nadir of all food forays on more than one occasion. Tonight was different. We asked the bouncers at the venue and were directed to Hope & Union which was hidden away around the corner. Beer & a burger were the order of the day for both Ste & I.  Ste picked a pint of Bad Seed Brewery Murky Magic and I plumped for Northern Blonde from the Brass Castle Brewery. Hope & Union broke the bad food cycle and set us up for a fine evening.

The last and only time we had been to the Georgina Theatre was to watch Fionn Regan in 2003.  It’s changed since then. Nice a compact. Definitely one to return to.  Support came from Ed The Dog. Ste noted a likeness between the lead singer and Harry Potter, a fact acknowledged by the singer after track 1. I wasn’t inspired by their performance to start with but I’d certainly grown into it by the end of the set.

Circa Waves took to the stage and launched into a great set only mired by some technical difficulties which caused a significant delay midway through the set and took a bit of momentum out of the performance.

I’m more familiar with the Different Creatures album, which I’d say I prefer, but the set was heavy on album one, drawing 9 numbers from Young Chasers and only 4 from Different Creatures. 1 new song was played with 1 b-side too…at least I think he said it was a b-side. Movies (the new song) sounded like classic Circa Waves.  I managed to bag a set list which showed a 15 song set, but I can’t quite remember if the delay led to one song being missed. 

We had a great view for the gig keeping ourselves to one side out of the way of the mosh pit. I’m sure I would have enjoyed one of those throngs in my youth, but they look insane now.

Anyway, the set was great and I’m looking forward to the new album.

 

 

 

fullsizeoutput_d51e

Author: cwblueroom

Gig goer. Vinyl buyer. Movie lover.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.